Literary Beginnings!

I hope this New Year slathers everyone’s life with Sunshine and fills it with love, laughter and joy.

Undoubtedly, 2015 was filled with lessons learnt and experience gained and, hopefully, the journey will continue in future. The only constant in this journey of transition has been my books, the books that made me smile a little brighter, cry a little harder; the books that made me a little wiser, and the books that became my savior.

However, if you were to ask me which is my favourite of them all, I may not be able to answer without an eternity of hesitation. Each one of them shaped me into someone I am today and to pick one would be unfair not just to them, but to me too.

original

So, as I flow along with those words and welcome 2016, here’s a list of few opening lines from my personal favourites that shall accompany you in kick starting another year of myriad dreams with a plethora of wishes.

And-the-Mountains-Echoed-Khaled-Hosseini.jpg

So then, you want a story and I will tell you one. But just the one. Don’t either of you ask me for more. It’s late, and we have a long day of travel ahead of us.” – And the Mountains Echoed, Khaled Hosseini

02.10-the_catcher_in_the_rye.jpg

If you really want to hear about it, the first thing you’ll probably want to know is where I was born, and what my lousy childhood was like, and how my parents were occupied before they had me, and all that David Copperfield kind of crap, but I don’t feel like going into it” – Catcher in the Rye, J. D. Salinger

a-tale-of-two-cities

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair, we had everything before us, we had nothing before us.” – A Tale of Two Cities, Charles Dickens

haleshearofdarkness.jpeg

Between us there was, as I have already told somewhere, the bond of the sea. Besides holding our hearts together through long periods of separation, it had the effect of making us tolerant of each other’s yarns- and even convictions.” – Heart of Darkness, Joseph Conrad 

6185643

I have told you that a woman is to be loved, not understood. That is the first understanding.” – The Book of Woman, Osho 

7d216-mrs-dalloway-said-she-would-buy-the-flowers-herself

How fresh, how calm, stiller than this of course, the air was in the early morning; like the flap of a wave; the kiss of a wave; chill and sharp and yet solemn, feeling as she did, standing there at the open window, that something awful was about to happen” – Mrs. Dalloway, Virginia Woolf

8051272993_0d22a637f6_b

The rust on the ponderous iron-work of its oaken door looked more antique than anything else in the New World. Like all that pertains to crime, it seemed never to have known a youthful era.” – The Scarlet Letter, Nathaniel Hawthorne

Norwegian-Wood-cover

I straightened up and looked out of the window at the dark clouds hanging over the North Sea, thinking of all I had lost in the course of my life: times gone for ever, friends who had died or disappeared,feelings I would never know again.” – Norwegian Wood, Haruki Murakami

9780141189208

It was inevitable: the scent of bitter almonds always reminded him of the fate of unrequited love.” – Love in the Time of Cholera, Gabriel Garcia Marquez

20121102_233719

All happy families are alike; every unhappy family is unhappy in its own way.” – Anna Karenina, Leo Tolstoy

pride-and-prejudice-quotes-Favim.com-1505100

It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.” – Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen

original_jane-eyre-birdcage-charm-necklace

There was no possibilty of taking a walk that day, We had been wandering, indeed, in the leafless shrubbery an hour in the morning;but since dinner the cold winter wind had brought with it was so sombre, and a rain so penetrating, that further out-door exercise ,was now out of question.” – Jane Eyre, Charlotte Bronte

the-gift-002.jpg

If you were to stroll down the candy-cane facade of a suburban housing estate early on the Christmas morning, You couldn’t help but observe how the houses in all their tinselled glory are akin to the wrapped parcels that lie beneath the Christmas trees within. For each hold their secrets inside.” – The Gift, Cecilia Ahern

hardtimes_cover

Now, what I want is, Facts. Teach these boys and girls nothing but Facts. Facts alone are wanted in life. Plant nothing else and root out everything else.” – Hard Times, Charles Dickens

belljar3_zps393918e1

It was a QUEER, sultry, summer, the summer they electrocuted the Rosenburgs, and I didn’t know what I was doing in New York.” – The Bell Jar, Sylvia Plath

download

The summer of 1947 was not like Indian summers. Even the weather had a different feel in India that year.” – Train To Pakistan, Khushwant Singh

amazing-decor-frankenstein-book-cover-original-13-mary-shelley-cover-frankenstein-mary-shelley-movie-frankenstein-mary

You will rejoice to hear that no disaster has accompanied the commencement of an enterprise which you have regarded with such evil forebodings.” – Frankenstein, Mary Shelly

 

Leave a Reply

